Skip to main content

Jonathan Leshnoff archives

 Collection — Multiple Containers
Identifier: MSS-0022

Scope and Contents

This collection represents the creative works of Jonathan Leshnoff, composer and Towson University faculty member. Works begin in 1987 and continue into the present. The materials consist largely of musical sketches, drafts, and scores. Other materials include correspondence, composition references, ephemera, and recordings.


  • Creation: 1987-2019

Language of Materials

A majority of the materials are in English; materials in Hebrew and other languages are indicated when available.

Conditions Governing Access

There are no restrictions on access. This collection is open to the public.

Conditions Governing Use

Materials may be reproduced for commercial or non-commercial purposes in whole or part for academic publication or presentations, public displays or performance, reprographic or electronic reproduction, and distribution via the internet but all requests must be submitted to Jonathan Leshnoff in writing. He reserves the right to refuse requests or charge a use or other fee for use of the materials.

Biographical / Historical

Jonathan Leshnoff was born on September 8, 1973 in New Brunswick, New Jersey to Susan and Stephen Leshnoff. He began composing at the age of six while attending public elementary school in New Jersey. He attended John Hopkins University and the Peabody Conservatory, earning bachelor's degrees in anthropology and music in 1995. He went on to receive his Master's of Music and Doctor of Music degrees from the Peabody Conservatory and the University of Maryland.

He began working at Towson University in 2001 and currently teaches orchestration, music history on contemporary music, and music theory. Jonathan became the Composer in Residence with the Baltimore Chamber Orchestra beginning in 2007.

His works have been performed by more than 60 orchestras worldwide earning international acclaim for their harmonies, complexity, and impactful themes. Over the course of his career, he has received commisions from Carnegie Hall, major symphonies such as Atlanta, Baltimore, Dallas, Kansas City, and Philadelphia, as well as others such as the Buffalo Philharmonic. Soloists have included Gil and Orli Shaham, Roberto Diaz, Alex Kerr and Manuel Barrueco.


60 Linear Feet


Series were chosen to reflect how pieces are designated within Jonathan Leshnoff’s catalog of published music. Subseries are works within the series designation and are arranged chronologically by release date. In the case of multiple releases in the same year, they are subsequently arranged alphabetically. Sub-subseries reflect the nature of the creative process. Materials that could not be identified have been placed into their own subseries that reflect the stage in the process such as sketches and drafts and are arranged chronologically.

Sub-Series may be located in multiple boxes due to size or type.

Cultural context

Genre / Form


Guide to the Jonathan Leshnoff archives
In Progress
Kylie Lewis, John Esh
Description rules
Describing Archives: A Content Standard
Language of description
Script of description

Repository Details

Part of the Towson University Special Collections and University Archives Repository

Albert S. Cook Library
8000 York Rd
Towson MD 21252 United States